Heaven’s Grocery Store

17 11 2011

Heaven’s Grocery Store
As I walked down life’s highway, feeling weary and sore
I came upon a sign that said ‘Heaven’s Grocery Store’
When I drew a little closer, the doors opened wide
And before I knew it, I found myself inside

I saw a host of angels – they were standing everywhere
One handed me a basket and said “My child, shop with care
Everything you ever need is in this Grocery Store
And what you cannot carry, you can just come back for more”

First I got some Patience, then Love in the same row,
Further down the aisle, some Understanding and Inner Glow
I found a box of Wisdom, and Faith a bag or two
And Charity, of course, because that is needed too.

I couldn’t miss the Holy Spirit, which was all over the place
And then some Strength and Courage, to help me run this race
My basketful was growing, but there had to be some space
For that necessity of living, a large amount of Grace.

I then chose Salvation, for Salvation was for free.
I tried to get enough of it, for my friends and me.
Then I headed for the checkout, to settle up my bill
For I thought I’d got everything, to do the Master’s Will.

As I turned back up the aisle, I saw Prayer and put it in
For I knew that when I left here, that I’d soon need help again
Peace and Joy were plentiful, the last things on the shelf
Song and Praise were hanging near, and so I helped myself.

When I said to the Angel, “Tell me what I owe?”
He just smiled and said “Share them everywhere you go”
Again I asked, “Really now, how much do I owe?”
“My child” he said “God paid your bill a long long time ago”

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 11 2011
Kim

Such a comforting poem!

17 11 2011
naturalharmoniemarie

How wonderful -thank you SO much for these inspirational words

Leave a Reply

